web analytics


The Petrona Award is given early since 2013 to the best Scandinavian Crime Novel translated to English (in honour of Maxine Clarke, aka Petrona, who was one of the first online crime fiction reviewers and bloggers and who passed away in 2012). So far I have read 4 of the 5 winners and 8 of the shortlisted books.

✔ 2017: Where Roses Never Die (Der hvor roser alder dør) by Gunnar Staalesen ★★★★
2016: The Caveman (Hulemannen) by Jørn Lier Horst
✔ 2015: The Silence of the Sea (Brakið) by Yrsa Sigurðardóttir ★★★
✔ 2014: Linda, as in the Linda Murder (Linda – som i Lindamordet) by Leif G.W. Persson ★★ read in Swedish
✔ 2013: Last Will (Nobels testamente) by Liza Marklund ★★★ read in Swedish

2017 Shortlist

+ Where Roses Never Die by Gunnar Staalesen (Norway)
– The Exiled by Kati Hiekkapelto (Finland)
– The Dying Detective by Leif G.W. Persson (Sweden)
The Bird Tribunal by Agnes Ravatn (Norway) ★★★
Why Did You Lie? by Yrsa Sigurđardóttir (Iceland) ★★★★
– The Wednesday Club by Kjell Westö (Finland)

2016 Shortlist

+ The Caveman by Jørn Lier Horst (Norway)
The Drowned Boy by Karin Fossum (Norway) ★★★
– The Defenceless by Kati Hiekkapelto (Finland)
The Girl in the Spider’s Web by David Lagercrantz (Sweden) ★★
– Satellite People by Hans Olav Lahlum (Norway)
– Dark as My Heart by Antti Tuomainen (Finland)

2015 Shortlist

+ The Silence of the Sea by Yrsa Sigurðardóttir (Iceland)
The Hummingbird by Kati Hiekkapelto (Finland) ★★★★
– The Hunting Dogs by Jørn Lier Horst (Norway)
Reykjavik Nights by Arnaldur Indriðason (Iceland) ★★★
– The Human Flies by Hans Olav Lahlum (Norway)
– Falling Freely, as if in a Dream by Leif G W Persson (Sweden)

2014 Shortlist

+ Linda, as in the Linda Murder by Leif G.W. Person (Sweden)
– Closed for Winter by Jørn Lier Horst (Norway)
Strange Shores by Arnaldur Indriðason (Iceland) ★★★
– The Weeping Girl by Håkan Nesser (Sweden)
Someone to Watch Over Me by Yrsa Sigurðardóttir (Iceland) ★★★★
– Light in a Dark House by Jan Costin Wagner (Finland)

2013 Shortlist

+ Last Will by Liza Marklund (Sweden)
– Pierced by Thomas Enger (Norway)
– Black Skies by Arnaldur Indriðason (Iceland)
– Another Time, Another Life by Leif G.W. Persson (Sweden)

2013-2017 © maria helena. All rights reserved.

RSS Feed. This blog is powered by Wordpress and uses a modified version of Modern Clix, a theme by Rodrigo Galindez.