2017 Petrona Award Winner

May 21, 2017 | No comments


At the end of March, the shortlist for this year’s Petrona Award for the best Scandinavian Crime Novel was announced, and yesterday the winner was announced. Congratulations to Where Roses Never Die by Gunnar Staalesen, translated from the Norwegian by Don Bartlett and published by Orenda Books.

After seeing the shortlist, my plan was to read all 6 nominees before the winner was announced, but I have only read two of them: the winner Where Roses Never Die and The Bird Tribunal by Agnes Ravatn (also Norwegian).

The other nominees were:
Why Did You Lie by Yrsa Sigurđardóttir (Iceland)
The Dying Detective by Leif G.W. Persson (Sweden)
The Exiled by Kati Hiekkapelto (Finland)
The Wednesday Club by Kjell Westö (Finland)

I have both The Exiled and Why Did You Lie, but haven’t gotten around to reading them yet (something that will be fixed asap).